Madrid – Toledo: you just have to visit!

My amazing Easter holiday in Madrid.

What have really kept me away from posting for the past few weeks, apart from other things, was my amazing holiday to Madrid for Easter!

If you haven’t been to that side of the world Madrid is a place that you should really visit. In general Spain is one of my favourite destinations, maybe because it reminds me of Greece, maybe because of my passion for flamenco, maybe for the very kind people….

I have been to many places in Spain but Madrid was one that I have been wanting to visit for a while now, and it really met all my expectations!

Here is a small taste of Madrid that will make you want to book your next ticket ASAP.

Plaza Mayor –  An amazing plaza full of cafes and restaurants, people playing music and singing, every time I was there something else was going on!

Plaza Mayor

Plaza Mayor

Museo de Jamon – You will find these shops everywhere in Madrid. Do not forget to have a bocadillo mixto for 2 eurors!

Museo de Jamon – Madrid

Botanic Gardens – Next to the El Prado museum a nice walk amongst beautiful flowers! I love yellow tulips and everything that is yellow! Do not forget to visit El Prado museum where you can find El Greco paintings. Another museum that you should visit is Riena Sofia situated very close to the gardens. There you will find Picaso’s and Miro’s paintings.

Botanic gardens

Walking around Madrid you will be amazed from the beautiful architecture and colours, I certainly was

Beautiful architecture in calle Mayor

El Retiro park – Madrid’s Central Park – should definitely walk around and enjoy the sun.

El Retiro

Toledo – Only 45 minutes by bus or 20 minutes by train, Toledo is a beautiful village situated on a hill and surrounded by the river. Do not forget to visit the cathedral.

Toledo

When in Madrid you must also visit the Palace (Palacio Real), the cathedral of Almudena which is situated next to the palace, go for drinks and tapas in Cava Baja, Calle Leon and Calle Cuchilleros, have some amazing and cheap tapas at the St. Miguel mercato and do not forget to walk on Grand Via.

If you are interested about flamenco then you should visit the tablao Corral de la Moreria which is one of the oldest in Madrid.

I stayed near the Puerta del Sol area very close to the Sevilla metro stop and I think when visiting Madrid you should aim for a central location so you can walk around which is the best way of exploring a city.

I hope my little online tour of Madrid gave you an idea of what to expect.

Next post will be coming very soon so stop by again

One thought on “Madrid – Toledo: you just have to visit!

Leave a Reply

