Does you make-up mean business??…

Do you mean business when going to work?

What are the dos and donts for an office make up? All these were covered in my business make up workshop that took place today in Grand Canal!

It was great seeing the ladies that attend the workshop learning great a quick techniques on how to apply their make up and look very proffesional and feeling confident at the end of it!

Of course for the people that couldn’t attend, this post explain how to have the look in minutes! So here are my tips:

DONTs

1. Do not over do it! – You are going to work not to a night club!

2. Do not use heavy make up in the morning as it makes you look a lot older

3. Do not and I repeat DO NOT go to work without make up!

4. Not wearing make up even if you have flawless skin makes you look unprofessional and that you are not making that extra effort.

Have you ever wondered why people have the tendency of being surrounded by beautiful and well presented people? We tend to trust them more and we like to work with these people more! Its only human nature, and you know the rules… so play by them. You face is part of your personal brand so use it wisely!

DOs

1. Go for natural earthy tones

2. Use bronzer for a fresh sun kissed look

3. For your eye shadows go for pinks and pastels – trust me on this one

4. For your lips go for light and juicy lipsticks that make your lips look fuller

5. Do not forget to re-apply

Below I will explain bit by bit how I do my every day morning make up before going to work. I hope you find it easy to do it too.

First step: Apply your foundation, I use a tinted foundation slightly darker than my natural skin tone to give a bit of tanned look as it is spring. I blend it with my round foundation brush from Crown brushes

1st step – foundation

I make sure I blend it well and apply it every where! You do not want to end up looking patchy! The foundation I used is MAX Factor Natural Bronze, to get that sun kissed look.

Foundation

Having applied my foundation, I apply my concealer, the concealer I used is MAC NC20.

Concealer

After applying your concealer, with the product left on your fingers, cover any small spots or redness and blend well.

Cover all spots or redness

Now, you have to apply your eye shadow. Use a larger eye shadow brush, the one I use is from Kryolan, and the eye shadow I am using is from MAC Shimmer Time B59

Eye shadow brush

Apply the eye shadow on the eye lid and blend well moving your brush upwards.

Eye shadow application

This colour will work as you base and prepares the area for the darker eye shadow.

Eye shadow base

Using an angled brush, the one I use is from MAC, position the brush the way it is show below, with the shorter  corner of the brush upwards and apply the eye shadow where your eye lid creases. Applying a darker shade will give you a deeper look.

Darker shade

Remember the movements will be umbrella shaped, starting from the outer part of your eyelid to the inner. When applying your eye make up, your brushes’ movement should be upwards and outwards!

With whatever product is left you can move your brush upwards creating more depth to the corner of the eye. You only need a very little amount of eye -shadow, so use whatever is left on your brush.  The eye- shadow I am using here is from The Body Shop called Warm palette.

Move your brush upwards

Apply one or two layers of black mascara. The mascara I use is from MAC.

mascara

Blusher time – The brush I use is from MAC and the blusher I use is from Crown brush.

Blusher

Applying your blusher – I always ask  from my clients to smile when I apply their blusher and then I place it right on the top of their cheeks,and then brush back with whatever is left.

Applying your blusher

Always use a subtle lip liner as it makes your lips look fuller.

Lip liner

For this make up I used an Estee Lauder lipstick called Electrified. I do not want the colour to be intense so I dab it on.

Lipstick

and my last touch… a bit of lip gloss to get that shine!

lip gloss

Here is the finished look…

Finished look

Now do I mean business??…. As my hair stand out, I tone everything down with a classic black blazer and a black dress.

My business make up look

Have fun doing your make up! I am always here to answer your question!

2 thoughts on “Does you make-up mean business??…

  1. Pingback: Tall Ships | makeupartistas

  2. Pingback: Video tutorial – Morning office look | makeupartistas

Leave a Reply

