D.I.Y. jeans

I am sure that you have all gone through your wardrobe thinking what to wear, and convincing yourself that you have nothing to wear, and that you are fed up of wearing the same things all the time. Even your favourite clothes are not that favourite anymore because you have worn them so much!

The same thing happened to me a few weeks ago, and since a whole wardrobe revamp just because I felt like it,  is something that Kim Kardashian would only do… for the rest of us we just have to find ways to spice our clothes up, make them wearable again and give them that lift that they have been missing.

So what I am suggesting to all of you is a bit of DIY, and not to worry, if I can do it you can definitely do it! So how could you revamp those old jeans? In my case I dyed them!

All you are going to need is:BeFunky_BeFunky_Instant_1

  1. Old jeans
  2. Dye of your choice, go for darker so you can have good results, I chose burgundy
  3. Rubber bands, to give a pattern
  4. A big ball or a washing basket
  5. Salt
  6. Warm water
  7. Yellow gloves, to protect your hands

BeFunky_DSCN2016

Use the rubber bands and rap them around your trousers to give the desirable design. Rubber bands will give a pattern of circles. If you don’t wish this, then you could tie them a few times in knots getting a different pattern. In my case I did both.

BeFunky_DSCN2019 and now the big moment.

How to:

  • Run your trousers under warm water so they are dump.
  • Dilute your dye according to the instruction. I had to dilute my DYLON dye in warm water adding one spoon full of salt to open up the pores of the fabric.
  • Make sure you wear your yellow gloves to protect your hands and take your big ball or washing basket and add enough water so your jeans will be covered once you dip them in.
  • Add the diluted die in your bucket and stir constantly for 30 minutes so the colour can be absorbed from the fabric.

BeFunky_DSCN2024

  • Take the jeans out cut all the rubber bands, rinse them in warm water and then in cold water till the water runs clean.
  • Finally give them a wash with a soft detergent and you are ready to wear your new jeans!

Here are my revamped jeans!

BeFunky_DSC_0233 BeFunky_DSC_0247 BeFunky_DSC_0258

I would love to see your creations! Send me a photo on twitter, facebook or here in the blog of your attempts!

Enjoy!

x

4 thoughts on “D.I.Y. jeans

Leave a Reply

